Submission Date extended until Friday, May 22, 2020, at 16:30 (GMT+02:00)

Robert Sills was an exemplary educator, leader, and inspiring individual, who served as President and Treasurer of the Mediterranean Association of International Schools (MAIS).  In his memory and through the generosity of TieCare International, MAIS has established the annual Robert Sills Student Award to be granted to those exemplary sixth through eighth-grade students enrolled in MAIS member schools. A total of five awards of $500.00 each will be granted in the 2019-2020 Academic Year.


The award is not meant to recognize a specific academic, athletic, or artistic talent or achievement, although nominees may well excel in one or more of these areas. It is intended to recognize those young people who model the character traits that MAIS values most in its students: persistence, a willingness to take risks, acceptance of other cultures and points of view, and a genuine interest in a sustained commitment to the welfare of others.


We are providing this Student Nominee Application in order that your school has the opportunity to nominate a maximum of two (2) deserving students. Your school may choose specific criteria to nominate students; however, the Sills Award Selection Committee, which is appointed by the MAIS Executive Board and comprised of two MAIS school directors, will be the final arbiters of which students have submitted the finest applications and portfolios.   


Therefore, we kindly request that a designated staff member and your student nominees carefully read the information contained in these guidelines to ensure your student nominees have fulfilled all of the nomination and application procedures.


As an international education association, MAIS is proud to advance our core values and beliefs through this annual award. We encourage each school to nominate suitable applicants, and we greatly look forward to reviewing your outstanding student nominations, which must be submitted no later than Friday, May 22, 2020, to the Sills Award Selection Committee. 

© 2023 by MAIS